A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Support Worker

Location: Boston, Lincolnshire, East Rate of Pay: £8.21 plus mileage*

Hours per Week: 7 hours

Job Reference: LIN1431075AH1 Expires: 2nd October 2019

About the Employer

I am a gentleman in my late 30’s who lives in Boston. I live independently in my own flat, but I have problems with motivating myself to do anything and tend to spend a lot of my days in bed. I struggle to go out and when I do it tends to be just to the local shop. I don’t eat very well as I can’t get organised and end up eating takeaways or junk foods.  I have been in hospital in the past as I stopped eating and drinking and would not answer the door to people. I am still a bit hit and miss around answering the door to people. I am also a bit ad hoc around taking my medication and understand the consequences of this. My flat gets untidy quite quickly and I end up not being able to find anything. My post often gets missed as I forget to open it.


Summary of Duties

Duties will include:

  • to make sure there is food in the flat and that the out of date food is thrown out
  • encourage me to eat healthy meals
  • to support me to keep the flat clean and tidy and open the post
  • prompt me to take my medication
  • support me to go out into the community at least once a week so that I can improve my confidence and motivation
  • prompt me regarding appointments so that I don’t miss them

 

My needs may vary from day to day and your tasks may reflect this. You could be required to perform other duties as reasonably required.

You may be required to undertake any training that is considered necessary and appropriate to your role.


The Person They Are Looking For

No previous caring experience is necessary, but you should have a genuine interest in supporting people.

You should be able to provide empathy and support and should possess the motivation to develop trust and understanding within the role.

Car Owner and full driving licence essential (business insurance required), you will be required to use your car to take me out in the community.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).

This advert may close before the stated date if sufficient applications are received.


The Times Required

Days and times required will be worked over 2 days a week x 3.5hr shifts (Ideally Mon and Thu although there is some flexibility on days – no weekends)

Shifts are in the afternoons (approx.13:00 to 16:30)

 

Mileage up to 15 miles a week x 30p per mile

 

NOTE: 75% retainer payment of contracted hours for the times you cannot access the property.

 

The working hours will be discussed further at interview.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: