A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Female Personal Assistant

Location: Sunderland, North East Rate of Pay: £9.20

Hours per Week: 6 hours per week

Job Reference: SUN1441445MB4 Expires: 25th September 2019

Female Personal Assistant (EQUALITY ACT 2010 SCHEDULE 9, PART 1 APPLIES)

About the Employer

I am the employer and mother of my 12 year old daughter and reside with my husband and her siblings in the City.

She is diagnosed with Down Syndrome and has some mobility issues which impacts on her physical ability when walking long distances or when she exercises.

She has access to a wheelchair if required, however this would only be used to allow her to take rests or when planning activities where she would be walking for long periods.

My daughter attends school Monday to Friday and spends most of her social time at home or out with our family. She is socially quite isolated, my expectation is the PA will assist in enabling her to access new experiences and develop some independence skills.

My daughter requires one to one supervision and support at all times. There may be occasional requirement to assist her in going to the toilet but she can generally manage this without direct support.

She is wary of new people and places unknown to her and will require someone to help build her confidence, trust and self-esteem, as she can come across as being quite reserved and shy when meeting people for the first time.

Once a relationship is built, she becomes very chatty and animated with a good sense of humour.

My daughter is a typical girl of her age and enjoys one to one attention.

She loves music, dancing and enjoys, the cinema, swimming and being outdoors.

She is quite vulnerable and will require regular prompts and instructions when crossing roads etc. as she is unable to identify risks associated with many everyday tasks.

Summary of Duties

The successful personal assistant will be required to support my daughter in accessing new activities and experiences in the local community.

You should be outgoing, friendly, patient and enthusiastic, which will support in developing her social skills and help build her confidence.

There may a be a requirement to support with personal care at times if on an outing, however this is not required at all times and she will request support as and when necessary.

The role is to befriend and offer companionship with a view to extending her support network.

It is desirable that the personal assistant will be expected to use their own car to take my daughter to social activities; however I would consider suitable applicants who do not drive.

Her needs may vary from day to day and your tasks may reflect this. You could be required to perform other duties as reasonably required.

You may be required to undertake any training that is considered necessary and appropriate to your role.

The Person They Are Looking For

I am seeking a personal assistant who has a calm and caring nature, patience and some knowledge or experience of supporting individuals with Down Syndrome.

I require someone who is committed and motivated in wanting to make a difference and improving outcomes for my daughter.

You should be enthusiastic and have an ability to promote and assist her in developing hobbies and interests outside of the home, including peer relationships in a social environment. 

We are a pet friendly home and have a dog.

Car owner and full valid driving license is desirable (business insurance required).

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).

This advert may close before the stated date if sufficient applications are received.

The Times Required

6 hours per week. To be delivered flexibly

2 x 3 hour sessions

After school hours during the week, or at weekends

The days and times can be more flexible during holidays and the activities, times and days will be discussed and agreed each week between the employee, my daughter and myself

Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: