A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Support Worker (min 25yrs)

Location: Birmingham, Selly Oak, Midlands Rate of Pay: £9 per hour

Hours per Week: Starting with approx. 6hrs gradually building to 18 hours per week*

Job Reference: BRM1445687LB1 Expires: 25th September 2019

Male Personal Assistant (EQUALITY ACT 2010 SCHEDULE 9, PART 1 APPLIES)

About the Employer

I am a 21 year old male living in the Selly Oak area of Birmingham. 

I am semi mobile, I can walk but can be unsteady so need guidance and need to know if there are bumps in front of me.  I sometimes use an electric wheelchair.  I have autism and hydrocephalus.

I love movies and enjoy going to the cinema. I enjoy going to the pub and going to McDonalds. 

I have an off the wall sense of humor. 

It may take me a while to get used to a new support worker and this is why the hours would gradually build over the weeks


Summary of Duties

Summary of duties

I need someone to escort me to social activities e.g. going to the cinema, pub and McDonalds and to my appointments.

I need you to watch out for me as I cannot detect for example bumps in the pavement.

You must be able to develop and maintain a personal one to one close working relationship.

My/the needs may vary from day to day and your tasks may reflect this. You could be required to perform other duties as reasonably required.

You may be required to undertake any training that is considered necessary and appropriate to your role.


The Person They Are Looking For

The person I am looking for must have a good understanding of autism and how to spot triggers that may cause me stress.

I need you to use your  initiative and be able to book journeys in advance e.g., I may need to take a train but you would need to arrange the extra assistance for me at the train station, training will be given on this.

I need you to be flexible as sometimes I can change my mind about activities I may want to do, so you need to be understanding.

You must be responsible, reliable, good at time keeping, kind and caring, understanding with a sense of humour, outgoing and energetic.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).’

Car Owner and full driving licence essential (business insurance required), you will be required to use your car to take me out in the community.

Full driving licence is essential as the role requires you to drive the employer’s vehicle, for insurance purposes you must be a minimum age of 25.

This advert may close before the stated date if sufficient applications are received.


The Times Required

*18 hours per week, however to start with their will be limited hours of approx. 6 per week and this will build up gradually

Friday evenings to start with, the hours will be discussed at interview so unable to give exact time at this point.

Working days and times will be discussed further at interview.


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: