A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Care Assistant

Location: Wakefield, Yorkshire Rate of Pay: £8.41

Hours per Week: 1 x 4 hour session fortnightly

Job Reference: WAK1444739BJ1 Expires: 25th September 2019

About the Employer

I require support for my 7 year old daughter who has severe autism. She is non verbal and is incontinent and therefore requires one to one support to access leisure opportunities. We have 2 dogs, rabbits and a guinea pig.


Summary of Duties

  • To take the time needed to allow my daughter to become familiar with her new carer, at her pace and on her terms.
  • To take the time needed to reach an understanding of how to communicate with and understand my daughter’s wants and needs.
  • To take my daughter out for leisure and fun activities.
  • To support at home with leisure and games when necessary.
  • To be proactive in researching and planning activities and new experiences.
  • To support my daughter with social interaction.
  • To provide personal care as needed (changing of nappy).
  • To keep my daughter occupied and stimulated.
  • To understand the importance of routine to my daughter and maintain this.
  • To confidently and calmly manage my daughter’s behaviours.

 

My/the needs may vary from day to day and your tasks may reflect this. You could be required to perform other duties as reasonably required.

You may be required to undertake any training that is considered necessary and appropriate to your role.


The Person They Are Looking For

You will have a calm and reassuring nature with clear focus on a consistent high level of care ensuring my daughter is safe at all times due to the constant risk posed by everyday scenarios when out e.g.  roads, strangers.

You will be reliable  and trustworthy and have the ability to manage the physical demands of this role as my daughter is energetic and strong and there may be occasions when she needs to be picked up to stop her running off. You will be able to manage a special needs buggy which my daughter is in when going out

It is essential that you have some experience of care of a child/adult who is vulnerable/has special needs

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).

Ideally you will be a car owner and have a full driving licence, but this is not essential (business insurance would be required for driving your vehicle for work purposes).

This advert may close before the stated date if sufficient applications are received.


The Times Required

Every other Saturday

 

10.00am – 2.00pm


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: