A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant (minimum age 18 years)

Location: Havercroft, Wakefield, Yorkshire Rate of Pay: £9.00

Hours per Week: 15hrs

Job Reference: WAK113112AW6 Expires: 9th October 2019

About the Employer

I am looking to employ an experienced Personal Assistant to support my father. He is an older gentleman who has mild memory problems and mobility difficulties. He is very cheerful, loves to talk and is generally a pleasure to work with.

The main aims of this role are to encourage my father to maintain his independence, and to support him to maintain his personal hygiene and access the local community. This will enable me to have a break from my caring role.

We have a family pet dog.


Summary of Duties

The Personal Assistant will be required to carry out the following tasks:

 

· personal care – to support him to prepare for a shower

· access local amenities, i.e. having lunch out or other local activities

· support both my parents to attend medical appointments

· assist with administering medication

· push my father in his wheelchair, so that he can access the local community

· carry out any shopping required and assist with list

· complete domestic duties, including washing up, dusting, hovering, ironing and changing bedding

 

His needs may vary from day to day and your tasks may reflect this. You could be required to perform other duties as reasonably required.

You may be required to undertake any training that is considered necessary and appropriate to your role.


The Person They Are Looking For

The successful Personal Assistant will be mature and take a responsible approach to care and support.

You will be patient, understanding and have a caring nature.

You will be outgoing and have a positive attitude.

Ideally you will have experience of working in a caring role and knowledge of mental health issues would be desirable.

Car Owner and full driving license essential (business insurance required), you will be required to use your car to help my father access the local community. It is important to note that my father uses a wheel chair, which will need to be taken out with him when using your car.

You must be a minimum age of 18 as you will be required to administer medication.

Due to the nature of the work for which you are applying, this post is subject to a satisfactory DBS disclosure (costs will be covered).


The Times Required

Monday 11.00am – 4.00pm

Tuesday 11.00am – 4.00pm

Saturday 10.00am – 3.00pm

 

There may also be a requirement to cover sickness and annual leave but this will be discussed and notice given.

 

Previous applicants need not apply


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: