A+ A- 02476 511 611
Previous Page

Personal Assistant

Location: Gloucestershire, Cheltenham, South West Rate of Pay: £98 per 24 hour shift

Hours per Week: Flexible

Job Reference: 270JI Expires: 31st October 2019

About the Employer

I enjoy heathy eating and learning about new foods and I also enjoy having help with food ideas and spending time cooking for and with him, as this really needs full support. The same goes for cleaning up after meals.

I enjoy going to the cinema at least once a day, big events such as boxing matches, music concerts and F1

When travelling to see family, a carer is needed as I am unable to access any of their homes in my chair. I would need to assist him with staying in a hotel and providing all care for the duration of the stay from personal care to getting on the train with bags and helping him purchase the tickets for these excursions.

It is this one on one care that allows me to be part of my family and to feel as though I can participate fully as opposed to being on the outside. And that they see me as independent and a grown and responsible man is incredibly important to my wellbeing and maintaining relationships with my family who live in Kent.

If on a day trip, I need support to purchase items such as food and drink, and to get in to many areas/shops/cafes as many still don’t cater for wheelchairs especially in areas such as Cheltenham with listed buildings that have steps and no ramps, or smaller doorways. I am on hand to assist and avoid any awkward/dangerous situations and knowing he can rely on this is very important to feel as though he is supported and safe doing the day to day things that need to be done.


Summary of Duties

On a day to day basis, to assist in the general running of his home.

  • Filing his letters and paperwork
  • Taking dictation and helping Adam to compose any important letters (such as to companies that have disability issues he has noted)
  • Helping with all personal care issues that he is not able to manage on his own, such as showering and providing assistance when he is in bed and not able to get to the bathroom
  • Personal grooming
  • Passing Adam medication such as for colds and flu when ill
  • Cleaning and keeping his home maintained as per Adam’s liking e.g. moving furniture, decorating/putting up posters
  •  Helping with purchasing items that are required, such as black out curtains and storage, as well as the day to day shopping.
  • All cleaning and washing at Adam’s request so he has the ability to choose what he wants to wear and when

The Person They Are Looking For

Must have a positive outlook and professional attitude.

Must be able to adapt in different situations and settings

Previous experience of care work is not essential as full training will be given.

Must be flexible

Must respect my privacy and confidentiality at all times

Computer literate, keyboard / office skills preferred.

Full training for the duties of the job will be provided, including the use of the hoist.


The Times Required

2 x 24 hour shifts. Flexibility is essential. Further shifts to be discussed at interview. 


Does this position interest you?

PA Finder

Register as a personal assistant with PA Finder to let potential employers in your area know you're available.

Register now to see if PA Finder is operating near you.

Useful Links

More Useful Resources
If you require more information or support during your recruitment or employment as a personal assistant, the following organisations may be useful: